CU Home | President's Site | President's Report Home
Columbia UniversityThe President's Report 2002-2007
Task Force on Undergraduate Education
The Task Force on Undergraduate Education was established in October 2006. The Task force is reviewing broad aspects of undergraduate education, including how well the curriculum serves the rapidly changing needs of an increasingly globalized world; the balance of general education and disciplinary specialization; interdisciplinary learning; and ways to take advantage of being in New York City.

The Task Force is looking at two broad areas: The first is a structural view of undergraduate education, examining how the various schools (Columbia College, the Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the School of General Studies) should be organized. The second is the curriculum itself: Four sub-committees are taking up reviews of undergraduate teaching, the structure of the curriculum, globalization, and how to strengthen education in the sciences.


Lee C. Bollinger

Alfred V. Aho
The Lawrence Gussman Professor of Computer Science

Paul J. Anderer
The Theodore and Fanny de Bary and Class of 1941 Collegiate Professor of Asian Humanities

Peter Awn
Dean of the School of General Studies and Professor of Religion

Elizabeth S. Boylan
Provost and Dean of the Faculty of Barnard College

Alan Brinkley
Provost of Columbia University and the Allan Nevins Professor of American History

Andrew Delbanco
The Julian Clarence Levi Professor in the Humanities

George Deodatis
Professor of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics

Nicholas B. Dirks
Vice President for Arts and Sciences, Dean of the Faculty, and the Franz Boas Professor of Anthropology and History

Geraldine Downey
Chair and Professor of Psychology

Stuart J. Firestein
Professor of Biological Sciences

Seth E. Flaxman
Student Body President of the Columbia College Student Council

Morton B. Friedman
Vice Dean of Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science and Professor of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics

Robert D. Friedman
Professor of Mathematics

Steven Gregory
Director of the Institute for Research in African-American Studies and Professor of Anthropology

Patricia E. Grieve
The Nancy and Jeffrey Marcus Professor of the Humanities and Chair of Literature Humanities

Robert E. Harrist
The Jane and Leopold Swergold Professor of Chinese Art History

Jean E. Howard
Former Vice Provost for Diversity Initiatives and the William B. Ransford Professor of English

Martha C. Howell
The Miriam Champion Professor of History

Susannah Karlsson
Student Body President of the School of General Studies Student Council

Ira Katznelson
The Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History

Andrew F. Laine
Vice Chair and Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Radiology

George E. Lewis
The Edwin H. Case Professor of Music

Claudio W. Lomnitz
Director of the Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race and Professor of Anthropology

Ann E. McDermott
Associate Vice President for Science Initiatives and Professor of Chemistry

Christia Mercer
The Gustave M. Berne Professor in the Core Curriculum at Columbia College

Andrew J. Millis
Chair and Professor of the Department of Physics

Vijay Modi
Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Shahid Naeem
Chair and Professor of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology

Daniel A. Okin
Student Body President of the Engineering Student Council

Susan G. Pedersen
Professor of History

Sheldon Pollock
The William B. Ransford Professor of Sanskrit and Indian Studies and Chair of the Department of Middle East and Asian Languages and Cultures

Austin E. Quigley
Dean of Columbia College, Lucy G. Moses Professor, and the Brander Matthews Professor of Dramatic Literature

Elaine Sisman
The Anne Parsons Bender Professor of Music

David Weinstein
Carl Sumner Shoup Professor of Japanese Economics

CU Home | © 2008 Columbia University | Webmaster